Congratulations to the Canadian Agricultural Youth Council Members!

Canada’s first Agricultural Youth Council has been formed, allowing youth across Canada to inform the federal government’s priorities on agriculture.Canada Youth Council

Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food Marie-Claude Bibeau announced the names of the youth who will form the new Canadian Agricultural Youth Council on July 24. The 25 young people were chosen from more than 800 applications received, representing a diverse mix of subsectors from across the agriculture and agri-food sector, as well as from every province and the North.

As a consultative body to Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, the Canadian Agricultural Youth Council will have the opportunity to offer suggestions on Government priorities, as well as identify problems and propose solutions on issues that matter most to them, all while developing leadership skills and building professional relationships.

Council members will provide their insights on a variety of topics, which could include: how the sector is adapting to COVID-19, business risk management programs, sustainable agriculture, market diversification, skills and labour, intergenerational farm transfers, and mental health. The Council will meet multiple times annually, with a virtual inaugural meeting planned for August 2020.

“I’m looking forward to virtually meeting the members of the first-ever Canadian Agricultural Youth Council. Each of these young leaders will bring a unique experience and perspective to the table. Together, the members will help shape the future of Canada’s sustainable agricultural industry,” said Minister Bibeau in a released statement.

The inaugural virtual meeting of the Council will take place in August 2020.

The 25 members are: Gordon Bell, Jerry Bos, Vicki Brisson, B Pratyusha Chennupati, Andrea De Roo, Chantele Gouliquer, Marcus Grymonpré, Paul Hrycyk, Sameeha Jhetam, Brent Kobes, Samuel Lanctôt, Jessica Leung, Carling Matejka, Ila Matheson, Césarée Morier-Gxoyiya, Sarah Ouellette, Steven Paolitto, Guillaume Pasquier, Lauren Peters, Kayoki Post-Whiteduck, Colby Robertson, Rose Seguin, Easton Sellers, Sara Kate Smith, and Kalysha Snow.

You can read more about each member of the Canadian Agricultural Youth Council online.

The announcement complements the news that 800 new positions for youth in agriculture are expected to be created through the Youth Employment and Skills Program for the 2020/2021 program year

Rail Safety Week is Sept 21-27

Rail Safety Week is Sept 21-27

Stay safe around the tracks! Rail safety week is here! With harvest in full swing and an increased amount of activity around the tracks read more...

Congratulations to the Canadian Agricultural Youth Council Members!

Current store: